Proud to be an American

As we go into the Independence Day weekend, I wanted to take a few minutes to reflect publicly on why I am proud to be an American.

I am second generation US.  My immigrant grand parents never spoke English.   My dad was the first member of his family of 16 to graduate high school.  I grew up in a middle-class neighborhood in Kansas City, the youngest of 2 daughters in a working class family.  I graduated from high school and went right into the work force.  I was a secretary, a purchasing agent, a sales person and more, even working 2 jobs at times.

14 years after graduating from high school, I started a business here in Seattle you may have heard of, Sleep Country USA.   The USA was added to the name of the business as a homage to the only place on the planet where my story could have this ending.  In front of each and every Sleep Country store, the American flag proudly flew.

This was never a marketing gimmick – anyone who has stood near me when the National Anthem is played has seen me get misty-eyed.  I have never lost sight of the fact that only in America could a working class girl go on to visit each of the 7 continents at least twice, build a successful business that still employs hundreds of people today, leave an impact on her community and her industry and retire at the age of 42.

This weekend, take a break from retail, burgers and fireworks and count your blessings.  You live in the greatest nation on this earth.  Take a minute to ask God to continue to bless the United States of America for our children and their children’s children.

Happy 4th of July weekend!

Tags: , , , ,

Comment

