A Little Bit Country – Part 2

Greetings from Nashville, Country Music Capitol of the World!  In my post earlier this week, I promised to share some of my favorite country tunes so you could build – or enhance – your own appreciation for this American art form.  Country music is never shy about being “pro-America”, KMPS 94.1 plays the National Anthem each day at noon sung by a variety of country artists.  Country songs chronicle our triumphs and challenges as a nation and celebrate our blessed way of life.  Follow the links to sample some of what I love about country music.

Country music often takes one phrase, the “hook” and has it change meanings through the story told in the song.  Two perfect examples; Kenny Chesney’s “There Goes My Life” and Bucky Covington’s “I’ll Walk”.  These should be required listening for teens along with Chris Young’s “It Takes A Man” all of which deal with long term consequences to short term decisions.

More songs (on the lighter side) which capture the trials and tribulations of youth:  Brad Paisley’s “Letter to Me” and “Online” the latter of which mentions playing in the school marching band and then features a great instrumental section by, what else, a marching band!  Nice touch.

Country music is a lot more than banjos these days as demonstrated by the incredible saxophone solo by Dave Koz in the music track of Toby Keith’s “Cryin’ For Me”; a very moving tribute to a friend.  Loss is a common theme of country music and “Anything Goes” by Randy Houser is a classic broken heart song.

Kenny Chesney’s “Don’t Blink” (a hundred years goes faster than you think) reflects on life which goes all to quickly for all of us.  It became my mantra the year I turned 50 and my daughter-in-law used it for her dance with her dad when she wed in May.

Growing up with Gloria Gaynor’s “I Will Survive”, women will appreciate Season 4 of American Idol winner Carrie Underwood’s “Before He Cheats”.  WARNING: This song is NOT for guys.  Your guy should not even know you like it!  My husband, John Murphy, is correct that there would be protests and boycotts if a man sang a song talking about trashing his ex-girlfriends car in this way. It’s still a fun “chick” song with a great beat that’s hard to resist.

Dads with beautiful young girls will appreciate “Cleaning This Gun” by Rodney Atkins and “Hurry Home” by Jason Michael Carroll – both father/daughter sagas.

In honor of Valentine’s Day, here are my favorite county love songs to share:

Start with “Getting’ You Home” by Chris Young and be prepared to want to dance.  Then move to “Waitin’ on a Woman” by Brad Paisley,  a classic “I want to grow old with you” which features Andy Griffith in the music video – a must see!  No Valentine’s Day would be complete without the song my lifelong friend, Robert Olsen sang during my wedding to John; Shania Twain’s “From This Moment On.”

Every time I listen to country music I am proud to be an American, grateful for the life I live and I fall in love with my husband all over again.  Pretty powerful stuff!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comment

