A Little Bit Country – Part 1

This week the National Speakers Association (of which I am a member) is having their conference in Nashville.  

Enjoying my first trip to Music City looking forward to the show Saturday night at the Grand Ole Opry has put me in a country music state of mind.

Growing up, my dad listened to Big Band music and didn’t think a decent song had been written since 1949.  My mom was a lifelong fan of country music which probably accounts for my hard left turn AWAY from this American art form in my teens.  My record collection (yes, they were records in those days) included, Chicago, Three Dog Night, The Stylistics, Donna Summer and of course, David Cassidy (OMG – David Cassidy!).  John Denver was as close to country as I got.

Then I moved to Dallas. That sentence should explain it all.  The office where I worked played country music over the PA system.  There was no avoiding it – even the bathroom had a speaker!  I spent the first month or so cringing at the twanging.  Then, like water on a stone, certain songs began to make inroads into my heart.  I went from begrudgingly admitting, “That’s not too bad” to “Shhhh, this is my song.”  I have to attribute my conversion to George Strait’s “Nobody In His Right Mind Would Have Left Her”, still one of my top 10 country songs.

If you don’t listen to country music, or think you like country music, you might want to give it another try.  There is a reason the country music station is the top music radio station in every market.

Just TRY to get good seats for a major country music concert….first time my husband, John Murphy and I went to a George Strait concert, our seats were up against the ceiling in the very top/back row of the MGM arena in Las Vegas.

When the George Strait CD came out a couple of years ago titled “50 #1 Hits” his comment was, “Wow, 50 #1 songs, you’ve got to be doing something right”.

Yes, country has some twang, George Strait’s current hit is even titled “Twang”.  There is a fair portion of “honky-tonk” “boot-scooting” tunes.  I know the joke, “What do you get if you play a country song backward?  You get your dog back, your truck back, your job back, your wife back…”  But the words and music of country songs will make you laugh, cry and love if you are willing to give a listen.

Friday I will give you a few of my favorites to get next time you are on iTunes including GREAT music to say “I love you” on Valentine’s Day.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “A Little Bit Country – Part 1”

  1. Eunice Says:

    As someone who shunned most country music (until 5 years ago)–I can totally relate. A random visit to the Today Show in 2005 allowed us to meet one of People Mag’s hottest men who also happened to be a new country artist. Today Show introduced 3 of the “hotties” in a Dating Game with my daughter as the bachelorette. Country music never sounded so good! I really like being able to understand the lyrics & it’s fun to sing along. If you run across Keith Anderson somewhere in Nashville — be sure to get one of his famous hugs! Tell him his Today Show fans from Seattle (Sara & Eunice) send greetings.

Comment

